how much to install electric outlet for electric range


  #1  
Old 09-22-04, 10:04 AM
chowyunfat2000
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
how much to install electric outlet for electric range

Hi,

I need to replace my electric range because it does not work.
However I realized that the range is hard wired and doesnt
have the standard plug.

Can someone give me a ball park estimate of how much
it would cost to installed the standard plug that the new
ranges use?

Thanks,
Arthur
 
  #2  
Old 09-22-04, 10:08 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
There are too many variables here. Is a new cable needed? This would be true if the cable is only three wire (and not four wire), or if the cable is the wrong size. What about a new breaker? How far is the range from the panel?
 
  #3  
Old 09-22-04, 10:17 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I don't think simply adding a receptacle will require an upgrade of the cable, assuming the electrical requirements of the new range are the same as the old one.
 
  #4  
Old 09-22-04, 11:43 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,031
Received 513 Upvotes on 418 Posts
Simply adding a receptacle to the exisitng box should not take more than 1hr. Depending on labor rates and travel required I would guess $50-$100.
 
  #5  
Old 09-28-04, 12:25 AM
chowyunfat2000
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
installing a new plug for oven

Hi,

A friend came buy and told me the following:
The wiring for the aluminum is 50 amps and might not be safe
to have a 50 amp oven as it might overheat. He mentioned that I
need a thicker aluminium wire or replace it with a copper wire of the same
length.

Does that make sense?


I would need to buy 25 feet worth of wire, along with the other parts.
Any guess on an estimate for this kind of job?

Thanks,
Arthur
 
  #6  
Old 09-28-04, 06:33 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,031
Received 513 Upvotes on 418 Posts
Aluminum wire is fine for a range. 50 amp should also be fine for a range. You still need to answer the questions. What guage wire and how many conductors? Can you see the cable? Check the jacket and look for the numbers.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: