Conduit required?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-26-04, 08:37 PM
DIYNovice's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 190
Conduit required?

I will be installing a 100 amp subpanel off of our 200 amp main panel. The two panels will be about 15 feet apart in the basement. Both panels will be mounted to the concrete wall. The feeder cables will be concealed about half the span above a suspended ceiling. The other half will be exposed in the workshop area.

Must I use conduit for any or all of the length of the #2 feeder?

If I use metal conduit, do I still need to run a separate #10 EGC between the two panels? TIA
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-26-04, 09:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
If you are using #2 THHN, then it must be in conduit the whole way. If you are using a cable assembly, then conduit is not required, but you should make sure the cable is adequately protected from physical damage. What constitutes "adequately" is subjective and is evaluated on site.

If you use metal conduit, you don't need to run a separate grounding wire, but I certainly would anyway. It will make a more secure grounding connection.
 
  #3  
Old 09-27-04, 12:08 PM
DIYNovice's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 190
Thank you for the reply John. If I use a 2/3 cable assembly but use a separate #10 EGC would that require conduit? I have not priced #2 and am not sure if there would be any significant savings in using a #10 vs #2 EGC over a ~18' length of conductor, espeicially if it would then require the extra cost of conduit.
 
  #4  
Old 09-27-04, 12:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Don't use a cable without a grounding wire.
 
  #5  
Old 09-27-04, 02:19 PM
DIYNovice's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 190
Thank you for clearing that up.
 
  #6  
Old 10-04-04, 07:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 23
Is a #10 sufficient for this installation? I would run a minimum of a #8. Also if it were in conduit wouldn't you need to use bonding bushings if there were concentric knockouts?
 
  #7  
Old 10-04-04, 07:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Although you could certainly run #8, the NEC only requires #10 here.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes