Breaker box ground wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-04, 05:29 PM
sth17
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Breaker box ground wire

I'm in the process of replacing all my galvanized water pipe with new copper piping. What do I do with the main electrical ground that is currently connected to the main incoming cold water pipe?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-04, 05:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
Connect it to the new pipe in the same location which should be withing 5 feet of entering the house.
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-04, 06:07 PM
sth17
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Copper Pipe

So I can ground it to the copper pipe? I didn't think I could use the copper as a ground.
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-04, 06:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Yes, the copper pipe is one of the ground sources. There should be at least one more. However, you are also bonding the water pipes to the ground in your electrical system at the same time.
 
  #5  
Old 09-28-04, 06:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
The copper is a much better conductor than the galvanized. However, where are you connecting the copper to the existing plumbing, and how are you making the connection? Are you putting in new copper all the way out to the street?
 
  #6  
Old 09-28-04, 07:40 PM
sth17
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm changing it as it enters the house. And I'm using a dielectric union between the galvanized and copper. Thanks.
 
  #7  
Old 09-28-04, 07:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
You may need to jumper around the union if it doesn't conduct electricity through it.
 
  #8  
Old 09-28-04, 08:09 PM
sth17
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
That's right. Thanks for the tip!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'