Rigid metal conduit as defacto ground rod

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-04, 05:50 PM
sandsmarc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Rigid metal conduit as defacto ground rod

I am doing a garage subpanel and was intending to install a ground rod. However, I ran my THWN conductors about 60 feet underground through rigid metal conduit. Can that act as my ground rod. It is buried 8 inches and runs for 60 feet.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-04, 05:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No. You must have a real ground rod.
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-04, 08:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
If the S-P is located in a structure which is seprate from the structure where the Service is located, you are required to have both an Equiptment Grounding Conductor between the two stuctures, and a Grounding Electrode (copper rod) at the detached structure.

The U-G RMC can serve as the EGC IF it forms a solid metallic path between both ends of the "run", and both ends should be "Bonded" to the metallic enclosures at each end.

I advise that at the S-P you fit a "Bonding-Bushing" on the end of the RMC inside the S-P, and connect a Bonding Jumper between the Bonding-Bushing and a Grounding terminal bar which is throughly Bonded to the metal surface of the enclosure.

The Equiptment Grounding Conductors of the Branch-Circuit, the Grounding Electrode Conductor to the Ground-rod, and the Bonding-Jumper all will connect to the Grounding terminal bar.

The ONLY connections to the Neutral terminal bar are the Feeder Neutral conductor,and the Neutral conductors of the Branch-Circuits.

Good Luck & Enjoy the Experience!!!!!!!!!!!
 
  #4  
Old 09-30-04, 04:16 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Actually you are only required to have an EGC if there are other metallic paths between the structure, such as a water pipe or phone/cable between the buildings.
The point is moot though since you are only 8" deep. 3/4" galv pipe can be used as a grounding electrode in lieu of a ground rod but it must be driven to "at or below grade" or it can be laid in a trench 30" deep.

I honestly cannot say if I think the conduit run itself can be the grounding electrode if it were 30" deep. I have never run across such a situation and never considered the scenario.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'