Installing a transfer switch

Old 09-29-04, 04:04 PM
kurtM
Visiting Guest
Installing a transfer switch

I purchased a 10-circuit transfer switch, which I intend to use with my 6000W generator. The plan is to mount an outside receptacle to plug the generator in. The other end, obviously, plugs into the transfer switch. I studied the installation instructions and had some "office" talk with some people and all keep saying I should get an electrician to install the switch. So much for their confidence in my work.

Now, I do feel comfortable working around electric stuff and did wire our entire basement when we finished it 15 years ago. We never had any problems with any of the wiring. I do not have to worry about any 220 since I do not plan to make use of anything in the house that might use it during an outage. My question is what is your recommendation and what should I watch out form besides the obvious when working with hot wires

Sponsored Links
Old 09-29-04, 04:08 PM
Yes, you do have to worry about 220. Your generator puts out 220 volts. You need to wire the other feed to the transfer switch from a 220 breaker in your main panel.

You also need to worry about trying to keep the loads balanced between each half of the 220 volts at the transfer switch. For example, you probably don't want the refrigerator, freezer, and sump pump to be on the same half of the service.

Old 09-29-04, 04:34 PM
kurtM
Visiting Guest
Ok

I understand that part. What I tried to say is that I do not plan on powering any 220v appliance with the generator. Wouldn't that mean, according to instructions, that all I have to do is remove the hot wire from the circuit breaker and tie it toget with the black from the switch and the corresponding red wire from the switch goes into the circuit breaker. I repeat these steps for all circuits I want to power, then tie the white wire to the neutral bar and green to the ground bar.