Burying the power lines to the garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-02-04, 08:23 AM
Dakota Kid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Burying the power lines to the garage

I own an older home with a detached garage at the back of the lot. Because the trees are starting to interfere with the power line that runs from the house to the garage, I want to bury that line. My plan is to:

1) Rent a trenching machine and cut a trench 18 inches deep between the garage and the house.

2) Bury the new line(s), and get the conduit in place, leaving lots of extra wire on both ends so that

3) the electrician can come in and make the final connections.

There are two lines running from the garage to the house, a smaller 12 gauge, and a big flat wire that I haven't climbed up there to check.

Do I need to bury two new wires, or is there some redundant wiring going on here?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-02-04, 02:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
You're only allowed one power feed to the garage. If there are two now, then that violates current code and you'll need to cut back to one. Or perhaps one of the cables is just for a 3-way switch between the house and garage to control an outdoor light or two (which would be okay).

What you said sounds fine, but you provided few details. The depth of the trench is the only number you provided. If you could quantify more things (e.g., cable size, number of wires, size of conduit, type of conduit, size of breaker, power requirements, etc.), it would help.
 
  #3  
Old 10-02-04, 03:50 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
IMO I would just bury a 1" or 1 1/4" PVC conduit from the house to the garage and let the electrician do the rest. You might also want to run another 3/4" PVC for that possible switch john mentioned, I agree that's what the other wire probably is.

Run them 18" deep with 90 deg. sweeps at both ends coming up at an appropriate location for both buildings.
 
  #4  
Old 10-02-04, 05:37 PM
sandsmarc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Check this with your electrician and town code enforcement official, but I believe you could also run rigid metal conduit and only have to bury it 6 inches deep.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'