Blown Ground Fault Interupt

Old 10-03-04, 06:51 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Blown Ground Fault Interupt

I have an interesting problem that I need an answer to. I put in a new electrical line from the breaker panel. The line goes to a plug, then breaks to two separate lines. One line goes to the Kitchen, above the countertop with a ground fault interrupt. The other line goes to the bathroom with a ground fault interrupt.
I was playing a radio off the kitchen line, and the ground fault in the bathroom blew (started smoking) after the radio was on for over an hour.
I think the two ground fault running off one original line caused it, but I don't understand why. Anyone know?

Old 10-03-04, 06:59 PM
D
I'm not an electrical expert...

but you may want to read over some of the old posts in this area. My impression is that under current electrical code, you aren't allowed to share the outlets like this for kitchens and bathrooms. You are supposed to run a seperate line from the breaker to the bathroom. Nothing else is allowed to be on the circut with it. Same story for the kitchen outlet.

I'm not sure about your question though, how is this system currently wired? Did you just run two seperate lines from the outlet or did you run to one GFCI and then to the other? (daisy-chained)?

Old 10-04-04, 04:32 AM
R
Clearly your new line violates code. You can't share a kitchen countertop with a bathroom. In fact, you can't share anything with a bathroom except another bathroom, and you can't share anything with a kitchen countertop except a dinign room circuit.

As for why you have a problem, why don't you start by describing the wiring. Stating that "The line goes to a plug, then breaks to two separate lines." is ambiguous. Is this one circuit, a multiwire circuit How did you run the wiring. What size wire? What size breaker? How did you make the connections?

Old 10-04-04, 05:04 AM
C