two switch loops, one light.


  #1  
Old 10-04-04, 11:44 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: us
Posts: 364
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
two switch loops, one light.

Is there any problems in using two switch loops to control one light?

I have a two door coat closet that I would like to add automatic light switches (single pole switches) to control the closet light. So, if either door or both are open the light is on and if both doors closed the light is off. I realize when the light is all the loop wires will be hot (even the one for the open switch), but is this a problem? It seems fine to me am I missing something though?
 
  #2  
Old 10-04-04, 12:03 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Not a problem.
 
  #3  
Old 10-04-04, 12:03 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
As long as everything is a single circuit then you can have as many single pole switches as you want.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: