Wiring an outlet from a lightswitch

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-04, 07:55 AM
hspb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Wiring an outlet from a lightswitch

Hello,

I am trying to wire an outlet from a lightswitch and I was wondering how to do that. I would like for the outlet to be on all the time, I don't want the lightswitch to control the power to the outlet. If anyone could help, I would really appreciate it. If you would, could you please respond to my email: [email protected].

Thanks
ricky.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-04, 08:19 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You may or may not be able to do this. If the switch is wired as a switch loop then you probably can't do this without adding a new wire.

Tell us ALL (emphasis on ALL) of the wires in the switchbox and how they are connected and we can help you determine if what you want to do is possible or not. Be very specific in your answer, and include all wires, including ground wires.
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-04, 08:47 AM
hspb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wire outlet from lightswitch

I will have to check the wires and get back to you, i will do this soon.

Thank you.
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-04, 09:17 AM
hspb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wiring outlet from lightswitch

I have checked the wires and there are three wires coming into the lightswitch, they are black, white and copper.
 
  #5  
Old 10-12-04, 09:21 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, then you attempted the impossible. You cannot wire a receptacle from this box. There is no neutral wire here (the white wire may look like a neutral, but it is not). Put everything back the way it was, and look for another source of power for your new receptacle. An unswitched receptacle is always a good choice.
 
  #6  
Old 10-12-04, 10:55 AM
hspb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wire outlet from lightswitch

I also have another outlet that is in the room that i'm trying to run power to, but it doen't work. Are there any suggestions as to how to check it, without getting an electricians tool box? If someone could tell me how to hook up the wires from the wall to the outlet, i will start with that.

I have not checked what these wires are, but i'm sure it is the same as the wall switch.
 
  #7  
Old 10-12-04, 11:05 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Where do these wires come from?

A simple neon light tester is a couple of dollars, and is the only tester you really need.
 
  #8  
Old 10-12-04, 05:28 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,524
Received 236 Votes on 207 Posts
Originally Posted by hspb
I also have another outlet that is in the room that i'm trying to run power to, but it doen't work. Are there any suggestions as to how to check it, without getting an electricians tool box? If someone could tell me how to hook up the wires from the wall to the outlet, i will start with that.

I have not checked what these wires are, but i'm sure it is the same as the wall switch.
Receptacles should be wired with the black to the gold screws and the white to the silver screws. Ground goes to the green screw. Only one wire under a screw.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: