GFCI Open Neutral


  #1  
Old 10-12-04, 05:37 PM
jstamatov
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
GFCI Open Neutral

An outlet on GFCI circuit stopped working. I checked it with a circuit tester and it shows an open neutral. The outlet with the actual GFCI unit seems to be working fine, as things that plug into it work, and the tester shows that it is wired correctly.

The outlet in question has worked fine for as long as I can remember. Now it doesn't. Does anybody know what might be going on here, and what I should to to correct?
 
  #2  
Old 10-12-04, 05:43 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,059
Received 521 Upvotes on 426 Posts
The neutral wire is open. Check for a loos connection on the GFCI or on the dead receptacle or any receptacles in between the two.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-04, 05:24 PM
jstamatov
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I checked all receptacles - all connections appear tight.

It just stopped working the other day. Could the GFCI have failed??
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-04, 05:45 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,059
Received 521 Upvotes on 426 Posts
Anything is possible. But your tester indicates an open neutral. Look for a loose or disconnected white wire. It could be in any JUnction box on the circuit including lights, switches, receptacles and just plain junction boxes with no devices.
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-04, 06:01 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Many people get hung up on looking for the failure in the non-working outlets. It's hard to accept the fact the the failure can be at an outlet that is working just fine. And it is easy to miss a bad connection. It's not always easy to tell. I encourage you to move all backstab connections (especially of the white wires) to the adjacent screws. Those backstab connections can be bad and not look like it. Also, pull on each wire (especially white wires) in a wire nut. And don't forget to check the switch boxes too, and the boxes where lighting fixtures are connected. Even working ones!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: