Converting a 220 outlet to 110

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-04, 02:07 PM
Beardo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Converting a 220 outlet to 110

Can anyone suggest the best way to convert a 220 outlet to 110? I'm replacing an ancient window air conditioner, and the new one requires only a standard outlet.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-04, 02:21 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Before you attempt to do this you need to determine the wiring that goes to the 240 volt receptacle. Examine the wiring and report back the size wire, including the number and color of the conductors. Also report th power requirements of the new air conditioner.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-04, 02:58 PM
Beardo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The wire looks to be 16 ga. There are two wires (black, white) plus a bare ground wire. The white wire is taped black.

The outlet itself is a Leviton, and has two HORIZONTAL slots together with the ground pin hole.

The breaker is rated at 20 amps, and is double-high (i.e. it takes up two slots in the panel).

The new A/C is rated thus:
60 Hz; 8.7 amps; Input 980 W; Voltage 115V +

Thanks for your help!
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-04, 03:06 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wire had better not be 16 gauge. For a 20 amp circuit it must be at least 12 gauge.

Assuming that the wire is 12 gauge then you can safely use this wire to make a 20 amp 120 volt circuit.

You will need to replace the 240 volt breaker with a 120 volt 20 amp breaker. The black wire will connect to the new breaker. The white wire will have to be connected to the neutral bar in the panel. The ground wire will remain connected to the ground bar. You should remove the black tape from the white wire.

You will install a 120 volt receptacle, either 15 amp or 20 amp duplex, or single 20 amp. You should remove the black tape from the white wire, and then connect as you would any 120 volt receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-04, 03:15 PM
Beardo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Many thanks. I measured the wire using a simple wire stripper tool - but I was measuring the wire itself, and not the insulation. It was a tight fit, and I may have been wrong. I'll make sure the wire is of the correct size before doing anything more.
 
  #6  
Old 10-13-04, 05:54 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have not found wire strippers to be a very accurate measure of wire gauge. I suggest you go to your home center and buy one foot of each of several wire sizes. Then you'll have something to compare with.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: