Electrical Wiring with Suspended Ceiling

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-16-04, 07:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 106
Electrical Wiring with Suspended Ceiling

I have finished roughing in my electrical for my basement remodel except for the wiring for the recessed lights that will be mounted in my suspended ceiling.

My questions are:

1. At each recessed light location, do i need a junction box at the light location, then a leg dropping from the box to the light which will be 4-6 inches below the junction box? Or can i just run the wire to the estimated location and drop 2 wires to the recssed light box and make the connections in the recessed light box?

2. When i run the wire form light to light, can i lay the wire on the ceiling bars or do i need to run them back into the ceiling joists. If i have to run the wires back up to the joists, can i run them on backing boards instead of drilling through the joists?

Thanks for any info

Lou
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-16-04, 07:53 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
The boxes on the recessed cans are fine, you do not need others.

You can't lay the wire on the grid, just staple right to the bottom of the joists when above the drop ceiling. No need to drill.

EDIT: "can" shoud have read can't. *Note to self: preview posts!*
 

Last edited by Speedy Petey; 10-16-04 at 08:40 PM.
  #3  
Old 10-16-04, 07:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
1. The latter.
2. First sentence: the latter. Second sentence: the former.
 
  #4  
Old 10-16-04, 08:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 106
Thank you so much for the replies. It is much appreciated!

Just one thing that seemed to be in conflict in the two replies... Do i need to use a backing board for the wire when going perpindicular across the bottom of joists?

Thank you again!!!
 
  #5  
Old 10-17-04, 05:04 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
No, not with the drop ceiling. If the grid is not up yet then it may not be a bad idea, but it is not required. If the grid is already up it's not worth the trouble.
 
  #6  
Old 10-17-04, 07:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 106
THank you again... the grid is not up so maybe i will use backing in the few places I go perpindicular. Thanks alot!!!
 
  #7  
Old 10-17-04, 06:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I agree with Speedy. You asked if you could use backing boards, and I said yes. I didn't say that you had to.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes