Double pole GFCI breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-19-04, 08:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Wink Double pole GFCI breaker

I am converting my pool to 220 volt and bought a double pole GFCI breaker. There are 2 load connections, a neutral connection and the pigtail which goes to ground. All I have at the pump is 3 wires-2 hots and a ground. Will the breaker work properly without a neutral connection between the breaker and the pump? This forum has been a big help to me so thanks to everyone who responds.
Steve
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-19-04, 09:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
If you have no 120-volt components, the neutral connection is unnecessary. Go ahead and connect the pigtail to the neutral bar (not the same thing as the grounding bar except in the main panel). but you will have no wire to connect to the third screw on the breaker. It will work just fine. The neutral connection exists because many pools have 120-volt components such as lights.
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-04, 09:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Does that mean I could use the breaker for a 120v and 220v line at the same time if I run the neutral wire?
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-04, 09:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Not without a pool subpanel. The amperage of the GFCI breaker you have is almost certainly too high to be used for any 120-volt load you have.
 
  #5  
Old 10-19-04, 09:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 33
OK. Thanks for your help!
Steve
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'