Subpanel Elimination

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-04, 09:59 AM
Glidedon
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Subpanel Elimination

Thanks in advance for your help!

I have a subpanel that was mounted to the outside of my house ( covered by a shed that will be removed also ) that I want to remove. This subpanel was used for a spa that no longer exists. The subpanel is fed from another subpanel , protected by a 50 amp breaker and and a 4 wire( solid ) cable ( 2 hot wires, 1 nuetrul ,1 ground ).

The only thing connected to the subpanel to be removed is an AC comppressor unit, protected by it's own 20 amp breaker box. The wire running from the AC unit breaker box to the sub panel consists of 3 wires ( red, black , green).

How can I connect the 4 wire cable to the 3 wire lead from the AC unit after I eliminate the subpanel ? The new connection will be in the crawl space under the house.

Thanks Again !

Don
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-22-04, 10:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I'm not sure if you can do this legally.

If you can (and someone else will have to comment on that), you will need to replace the 50 amp breaker with a 20 amp breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 10-22-04, 11:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
If the compressor is 240 volts:
Connect the two hots of the feeder to the two hots of the compressor. Then connect the grounding wire of the feeder to the grounding wire of the compressor. Cap off the neutral wire of the feeder. Put all this in a permanently accessible and covered junction box in your crawl space. And then replace the 50-amp feeder breaker with a 20-amp breaker.

If the compressor is 120 volts:
Connect one hot of the feeder to the hot of the compressor. Then connect the grounding wire of the feeder to the grounding wire of the compressor. Connect the neutral wire of the feeder to the neutral wire of the compressor. Cap off the extra hot wire of the feeder. Put all this in a permanently accessible and covered junction box in your crawl space. And then replace the 50-amp feeder breaker with a 20-amp breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 10-22-04, 02:28 PM
Glidedon
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks John and racraft,

It's a 240v system so suggestion #1 sounds good !

Now when that If it's legal question gets answered, I'll get to work on it.

Man, 12,000+ posts between you guys, thanks for your efforts. I'll let you know how it turns out !

Don
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'