installing box and drywall

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-04, 07:25 AM
ker
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
installing box and drywall

I was wanting to install my outlet boxes flush with the studs, drywall, and then cut out using my rotozip. Is this the correct method,. Do the boxes go flush with the front of the studs and do you have to use metal boxes to do this?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-04, 07:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Don't install the boxes flush with the studs. That would put you in violation of electrical codes. Install the boxes just shy of 1/2" (maybe about 7/16") proud of the studs. Electrical boxes have little ridges on the outside to make it easy to do this without measuring. Then when hanging the drywall, after putting in a few screws but before putting them all in, you can cut out the boxes with a your rotozip. Plastic boxes are fine. If you install the cheapest plastic boxes, you'll need a bit more skill with the rotozip or you might cut a box or two. So you might want to consider the more sturdy plastic boxes to make the rotozipping easier.
 
  #3  
Old 10-23-04, 09:11 AM
ker
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
So do you cut around the outside of the box or the inside? If the inside, how dou you push the drywall flush with the studs?
 
  #4  
Old 10-23-04, 10:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Measure the location of the box first. Mark that location on the drywall sheet before you hang it. Mount the sheet with some of the screws (enough to hold it tight against the box, but not enough to crack the drywall). Plunge the rotozip with a drywall bit into the center of the box according to your marks. Gently slide it over until you feel the bit hit the edge of the box (don't push too hard or you might cut through the box). Jump the bit over the lip of the box and run the rotozip around the contour of the outside of the box. Slow down as you approach the corners so that you don't overshoot the corner. Use a special drywall bit on the rotozip. The drywall bit has a non-cutting tip (so you don't cut the box). It might take you a few boxes to get really good at it. There should not be a receptacle or switch in the box when you do this, and you should push the wires to the back of the box before you start.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'