100 amp and 60 amp

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-26-04, 08:27 PM
mhicks
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
100 amp and 60 amp

My brother in law bought a house recently and it has 100 amp service but it has a 100 amp main breaker and 100 amp breaker in box going to a 60 amp box which has pull out fuse panels and screw in fuses. His insurance company canceled him because of the 60 amp box, they said it was illegal. His house does have 100 amp service though. What should he do? He lives in Indiana. Thank you for any input.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-26-04, 11:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Well, it would be interesting to see exactly the reason the insurance was canceled. But it seems clear that you can't have a 100-amp breaker protecting the feeder to a 60-amp subpanel.
 
  #3  
Old 10-27-04, 07:34 AM
mhicks
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I think the insurance company thought that he only had 60 amp service. The only thing I see wrong is like you said there is a 100 amp breaker providing current to the 60 amp panel. Should he just put a 6o amp breaker in box for the subpanel?
 
  #4  
Old 10-27-04, 08:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
Who determined that it was illegal? Have an electrician verify what he has is not illegal or make the changes to get it legal. He should call them and appeal the cancelation.
 
  #5  
Old 10-28-04, 08:41 AM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,391
I agree
get the panel check by a certified electrician
if it's legal appeal
some of these insurance guys dont know nothing about anything
cheers
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'