Access Required to Junction Box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-31-04, 12:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 114
Access Required to Junction Box?

I am running some 20 amp circuits in a home. There are some situations where several outlets will be on the same circuit. The easiest configuration would be to run a wire from the breaker to a junction box and then from the junction box out to the several receptacles that will share the breaker.

My question can the junction box be buried behind the sheet rock or do I need to provide access to it?

Thanks,
David
 

Last edited by Montanaro; 10-31-04 at 12:14 PM. Reason: typo
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-31-04, 12:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
In no circumstances can a junction box be buried. This, among other reasons, is exactly why they are rarely used. I would argue exactly the opposite point as you. The use of a junction box as you describe would make the job much harder, not easier. I recommend you just daisy chain the outlets as everybody else does.
 
  #3  
Old 10-31-04, 12:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 114
Thanks for the info

Thanks for the info. I was afraid I cound not bury a junction box.

The reason why I was trying to avoid daisy-chaining is I was trying to keep as much separation as possible from Cat5 cables for datacom. I am running shielded Cat5e so hopefully that will help avoid interference.

Thanks,
David
 
  #4  
Old 10-31-04, 02:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
A foot of separation is plenty. Cross at 90-degree angles where necessary. This should not be very hard to achieve.
 
  #5  
Old 10-31-04, 04:33 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
If you are running shielded cable which is properly installed then interference should not be an issue.

IMO this whole interference problem is way over rated. Meaning I have seen jobs which were terrible as far as data cabling goes and interference was not a problem.
In fact I have yet to run into a problem with interference in a residence.
Commercial is different with transformers, hundreds of fluorescent lights, etc.
 
  #6  
Old 10-31-04, 05:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 344
A double gang box with a blank switch/outlet (plastic) cover would work as a junction box. I would put it at outlet height. Get the deep box, not a shallow box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'