Washer pulsates (Flickers-Pulsates House Lights)

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-05-04, 07:11 AM
crosswind
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
GE Washer pulsates -pulsates-pulsates

3 year old GE washer pulsates when it gets to the spin cycle, causing all the lights in my house to flicker/pulsate in unison. I used an extension cord to plug the unit into a different circuit so that I could determine whether or not the problem was in my house wiring or in the washer. The problem is deffinitely in the washer.............?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-07-04, 08:31 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
Do the lights flicker in any room or just 1 or 2 rooms? The problem may be that the washer circuit is on the same service leg {phase} in the main panel.For example,if the lights are on circuit #1 and the washer circuit is #3 they may be on the same phase.The reason the lights flicker is becase of the high current draw of the washer putting an extra load on that side of the service
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-04, 08:33 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
I should've asked...do you have fuses or circuit breakers? If breakers, how old are they?
 
  #4  
Old 11-07-04, 10:29 PM
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 50
I have a similar problem. My panel was upgraded when I moved in and I know they are on different breakers. The problem was 10 times worse before the upgrade. Is this normal? I know the power in my neighborhood is not that great out light in the house blink occasionally when the neighbors draw allot of power
 
  #5  
Old 11-08-04, 05:37 AM
crosswind
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
lights flicker all over the house, especially noticable in the kitchen where we have recessed lighting. I know it is not on the same circuit with the other lights, and I have ruled out that there may be a problem with the circuit breaker by plugging the unit into a different circuit. (The house is 16 years old).

When the pulsating begins, I hear a click of a switch within the washer that engages just before the spin cycle starts. After the click, the rotor begins to spin. But, just as soon as it stars spinning, there is another click, the sound of a switch disengaging, and the spin stops. Then the cycle starts all over. With every cycle, the drain on the power dims the lights. Normally, the unit would continue on its spin cycle, and maybe the lights would dim for a moment or so but I do not know. That would have been almost unnoticable as it would only happen a few times during the entire wash and rinse cycle.

Any ideas on the repair................???????????
 
  #6  
Old 11-10-04, 08:41 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
It sounds like the motor may be going.Since the washer is only 3yrs old check the warranty,its best to call for factory service which you may not have to pay for.
 
  #7  
Old 11-11-04, 05:19 AM
crosswind
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thank you for the reply........
 
  #8  
Old 11-12-04, 05:33 PM
clarkshome
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I am having the exact same problem! GE washer about 3 yrs old, and yesterday it started this. Any solution yet?
 
  #9  
Old 11-14-04, 05:55 AM
crosswind
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
not yet, I haven't had time to look into it deeper. I intend to do that this week, and see what I can find out..........
 
  #10  
Old 02-09-05, 09:07 PM
Moli
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I had an old Whirlpool washer that would engage/disengage constantly during the wash cycle, the repairman wanted $100 plus labor to replace the timer. When I asked what tests he had performed to determine it was the timer failing, he got really testy... Turns out, he didn't actually perform any tests, it was just a wild stab.

After he was gone, I went into the washer and found out what the problem was. There was a 115v solenoid that engaged a clutch to spin the tub located underneath the tub that had two wires going to it, the solenoid was on a part of the mechinism that it would rock back and forth, and this had caused the wires to the solenoid to begin to break at the "faston" crimp connectors. I Replaced the wires, and it cured the problem completely.

It sounds like the GEs could have a similar problem (although the Whirlpool was a lot older at the time). It's an easy repair, it's just a little hard to troubleshoot since the solenoid is 115 v, so be careful.

Of course, the GE might be a completely different configuration. In that case, nevermind.
 
  #11  
Old 02-11-05, 07:35 AM
Mr Fixit eh's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 94
If you can plug in a high-amps appliance into this receptacle and not experience the flicker, you've pretty much ruled out the house wiring.

You might want to post your question in one of the appliance-repair forums such as http://forum.doityourself.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1 for more specific advice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes