old wireing

Old 11-10-04, 04:35 PM
old wireing

i live in a 90 year old home. while i'm no electrician whenever i redo a room, i do a complete tearout and rewire all the outlets and ceiling lights as i go. normally adding one more outlet, or more to the new run.wherever i can i run new wireing. i don't change any thing just add. my question has to do with the wires running through the ceiling for the ceiling lights.most of the time the wires come from different directions. one may come from the ceiling while the other may come from the basement or from the oppisit direction. these are usually old wires,cloth coated, and never a ground. i assume they are grounded in the basement.when i replace a switch the two wires look the same are they. i'm sure the electrians back than knew what they were doing but i know i don't. any info on the methods back than might help me understand. any info would be appreciated. i find most of my questions already answered on other posts but not this one. thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 11-10-04, 05:07 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Given the vintage of your home you are most likely dealing with knob and tube wiring. This consisted of 2 wires, a hot and a neutral, there was no ground. The wires ran through porcelain insulators when they passed through a joist, the tube, and were supported on insulators, the knobs, when parallel to the joist.

The splices were made without boxes. The insulation was removed for a short distance and the tap was wrapped around the main run of conductor.

You may also be dealing with switched neutrals instead of the more modern switched hots. Do not switch the neutral in any of your wiring.

Old 11-10-04, 05:08 PM
Sounds like your house was wired before equipment grounding was invented.