code for number of plugs per breaker


  #1  
Old 11-15-04, 04:55 PM
welder2085
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
code for number of plugs per breaker

I am in the process of building a house and have a question about how many plugs you can run from 1 20 amp breaker, if any one can help it will be greatly appreciated
 
  #2  
Old 11-15-04, 05:06 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
In the U.S., the National Electrical Code places no restrictions on the number of outlets on a residential circuit. Put a thousand on it if you want. Of course, there are many other considerations that would suggest that that is a bad idea, but it's not regulated by code, and you asked about code.

Some cities place limits not in the NEC, so always check locally.

Rule of thumb is no more than ten. But there are a lot of reasons you might go higher or lower.
 
  #3  
Old 11-15-04, 05:09 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 270
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
First off, with 20amp breakers, unless you're using 20amp receptacles, there's a minimum number as well, two. I.E. if you have only one 15amp rec. on a 20amp breaker, the receptacle could be over its rating before the breaker would trip. As far as maximum, I'm not a proffesional sparky, but know a fair bit about the work, and I don't know if it's code or just something that got stuck in my head along the way, but I don't put more than 7 or 8 devices, be it lights or rec. or whatever, on one breaker. Single poles are cheap, and if you have a 40 space 200amp service you shouldn't run out of room.
 
  #4  
Old 11-15-04, 05:11 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 270
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
John types faster than me...lol.....there ya have it...from a pro...good luck with the new house.
 
  #5  
Old 11-15-04, 05:52 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,027
Received 513 Upvotes on 418 Posts
In Canada I think the limit is 12.
 
  #6  
Old 11-15-04, 06:46 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
jproffer's answer may be a bit misleading.

While it is true that you cannot have a single 15 amp receptacle on a 20 amp circuit, this only applies if this is a simplex receptacle. A standard 15 amp duplex receptacle can be the only item on a 20 amp circuit without violating code.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: