Panel ??


  #1  
Old 11-23-04, 04:21 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 84
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Panel ??

If I have a 200 amp box , am I limited to the total of breaker amps or the total of actual amps used or total of amps used at one time.

EX; 50 amp breaker for a 40 amp max circuit etc;

John
 
  #2  
Old 11-23-04, 05:32 PM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 646
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The size of your service equipment is governed by a service demand calculation not by the size of the breakers that the service supplies. The breakers are selected to protect the circuit they supply rather than to limit the current draw on the service.
--
Tom Horne
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-04, 06:01 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,006
Received 501 Upvotes on 411 Posts
You are limited by the number of breakers you panel manufacuter specifies can be installed. In USA theat means 42 breakers is the max in any panel. There is no limit in Canada.

Demand load calculation determines to main breaker & panel size.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: