Panel ??

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-23-04, 03:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 84
Panel ??

If I have a 200 amp box , am I limited to the total of breaker amps or the total of actual amps used or total of amps used at one time.

EX; 50 amp breaker for a 40 amp max circuit etc;

John
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-23-04, 04:32 PM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 695
The size of your service equipment is governed by a service demand calculation not by the size of the breakers that the service supplies. The breakers are selected to protect the circuit they supply rather than to limit the current draw on the service.
--
Tom Horne
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-04, 05:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
You are limited by the number of breakers you panel manufacuter specifies can be installed. In USA theat means 42 breakers is the max in any panel. There is no limit in Canada.

Demand load calculation determines to main breaker & panel size.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'