no power to outlet


  #1  
Old 12-05-04, 02:08 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 87
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
no power to outlet

I have 1 outlet that does not work. All the other outlets in the circuit are working. I pulled it out, checked the connections and they were fine, but when i used my volt meter i am getting no power from the black wire. I checked it using a known ground source. I can't figure out the problem. It is not connected to any GFCI's (and either way all GFCI's are working). Does anyone have any idea what could be happening? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-05-04, 02:10 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 87
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
could it be

at another outlet where it gets it's feed from?
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-04, 02:59 PM
U
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 79
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Has the outlet worked in the past, any remodeling recently?

Check the other outlets on the circuit for a broken splice or a bad back stab.
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-04, 03:40 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,875
Received 475 Upvotes on 391 Posts
Problem could be at the box feeding this one. It may not actually be a receptacle. It could be fed from a light or a switch as well.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: