GFCI circuit debug

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-07-04, 01:02 PM
PLLman
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
GFCI circuit debug

I installed five circuits with GFCIs in an outbuilding. Two circuits are dead. The reset buttons would not stay down. I totally unwired the GFCIs and the resets would still not stay down. I assume that the units are dead. Is it typical that 2 in 5 units are DOA?

While I was thinking through the problem, a theortical question arose. If the plug unit was okay and worked with just the line connected, but failed when the flow through load of a single duplex plug is attached (metal boxes 10 feet apart through EMT), what does one do next to fix the system? Replace all downstream wire and plugs?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-07-04, 01:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Could be:
(1) Bad devices.
(2) Miswired "line" vs. "load".
(3) Ground fault downstream.

Start by disconnecting the load side wires. Then see if the device can be reset. Then test the line side wires to make sure they are really hot.
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-04, 01:40 PM
PLLman
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I double checked Line vs Load - 99% certain that I got that right. I bypassed the GFCI as a test by tying the disconnected hot and neutral wires respectively together with wire nuts and tested power in the downstream socket. It worked, so I conclude that the line is indeed powered. What if it is a ground fault? How do I go about finding and correcting it?
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-04, 10:18 AM
Mr Fixit eh's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 94
Is there a shared neutral in these circuits?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes