FPE Stab-Lok

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-04, 11:49 AM
bulldog88
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
FPE Stab-Lok

150Amp box - i've been told to replace this due to dangers and see if upgrade to 200Amp is allowable. Your thoughts on this are much appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-14-04, 01:21 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Very Good Idea

Change out the FPE panel as soon as possible. I've seen pictures of FPE circuit breakers that don't trip causing a fire in the FPE panel.

FPE Panels/circuit breakers are JUNK and very dangerous!!
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-04, 05:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I agree that you should replace this panel with a safe one. However, whether to upgrade to 200 amps or not is another question. Of course if the upgrade will do you any good, doing it when replacing the panel is certainly the right time to do it. The question is whether or not 200 amps do you any good. If you have a house under 2000 square feet and all your major appliances (cooking, clothes drying, home heat and hot water) are gas, you have no use for 200 amps. Otherwise, consider it.
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-04, 07:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Fpe?

Mind if I ask what FPE stands for?

Does it have anything to do with Federal Pacific? My dad's old house has a 200 AMP Federal Pacific breaker box, and he's mentioned that he doesn't trust it because of what others have told him...He plans to replace it with a Square D box.

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-04, 07:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Yes, it's Federal Pacific. It's only the old ones in the U.S. that are a problem. The new ones in Canada (sold as Federal Pioneer, I think) are supposed to be okay. I don't think FPE does business in the U.S. any longer. They blackened the name too much to ever use it again.

For the record, FPE has always denied that it has any problem. But a number of government agencies have strongly disagreed.
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-04, 07:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Originally Posted by John Nelson
Yes, it's Federal Pacific. It's only the old ones in the U.S. that are a problem. The new ones in Canada (sold as Federal Pioneer, I think) are supposed to be okay. I don't think FPE does business in the U.S. any longer. They blackened the name too much to ever use it again.

For the record, FPE has always denied that it has any problem. But a number of government agencies have strongly disagreed.

He's told me that he has heard stories of problems like you mentioned.

His house was built in 1978, and I don't know that he's ever had a problem with any of the breakers. Would you advise replacement anyway?

FWIW: He is currently building a new house (and will be selling this one) and he wound up with an extra Square D homeline box with a 200AMP main, so he'd just need to buy breakers. The panel is easily accessable, and the wires should be long enough to reach (if not the box can easily move up a bit). Still, that's quite a job (he'd have a relative who is an electrician do it).
 
  #7  
Old 12-14-04, 07:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
If your family car had no seat belts, would you be looking to upgrade? The answer to this question is the same as the answer to the question of whether to upgrade the panel.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'