3 way 4 way switch questions


  #1  
Old 12-15-04, 08:34 AM
1975
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
3 way 4 way switch questions

I just replaced all of the switches on my first floor. I knew I had 3 way switches but didn't realize I had 4 ways as well. All I did was replace the old switches, none of them were 4 way switches, all 3 way or singles. None of the switches had more than three wires attached.

My questions; Is this okay? Is the fourth poll being taken care of by one of the wire nut connections in the box?

Everything seems to function correctly but I am curious because after I figured out I had 4 way switches I did a little reading and it doesn't jive with what I see in my home.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-15-04, 08:48 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, it's okay.

Is the fourth poll being taken care of by one of the wire nut connections in the box?
I can't answer this because the question doesn't make any sense.

I knew I had 3 way switches but didn't realize I had 4 ways as well. All I did was replace the old switches, none of them were 4 way switches, all 3 way or singles.
These two sentences seem to directly contradict each other. Please clarify. Do you have 4-way switches that you didn't replace when you replaced the other switches? If so, why did you replace the others but not the 4-way switches?
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-04, 10:27 AM
1975
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
sorry for confusion

John sorry for the confusion, it seem to make sense the when I wrote it the first time but reading now

What I was trying to say was that I have one light fixtures controled by 3 switches, and when I replaced the switches none of them were a 4 way. I was concerned that something was incorrect, but thinking about it now I didn't replace the switches at the top of the stairs and those are probably the 4 ways. Does that make sense?

I think I'm okay???


Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 12-15-04, 10:34 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have one light fixtures controled by 3 switches, and when I replaced the switches none of them were a 4 way
That's not possible, at least not if they worked correctly. One of them must be a 4-way.

but thinking about it now I didn't replace the switches at the top of the stairs and those are probably the 4 ways
That's a reasonable guess.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: