Wiring New Addition


  #1  
Old 12-19-04, 01:22 PM
gandh520
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Wiring New Addition

I'm completing a 350 sq ft addition on our home, to be used as a den, family room. I am fairly familiar with residential electrical wiring having built a home 25 years ago, but that's the point. I want to run some questions past the experts because I am not immersed in the details as I was 25 years ago.
I plan to put in four circuits.
- one for the receptacles, 12/2, 20amp
- one for the can lighting in the cieling and cieling fan, 14/2
- one for the exterior lighting and a couple interior lights, 14/2
- one decicated to a computer circuit that will have two CPU's plus printers, and related equipment.
I have run the 2 wire to everything but the I have a couple of locations where I will be using 3-way switches. I plan to run power from my existing service panel to the switch and then run 3-wire to the related fixtures.
One of my questions is, I have set's of lights that are on the same circuit but switched seperately. Can I simply loop power feed from switch to switch inside the multi-gang switch box?
Any other comments you might have are appreciated.
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-19-04, 05:08 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,262
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sure you can share circuits between switches in a multi-gang box. You can even have more than one circuit in a box.
One thing I do see. Do not run the 3-wire of the 3-ways to the fixtures. It can be done but it is definitely not advisable for a DIY'er to have to figure out. The safest and easiest way is to run the 3-wire from switch to switch with the feed on one end and the switch leg on the other.
 
  #3  
Old 12-23-04, 08:58 AM
Mr Fixit eh's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 89
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You might want to check the amperage drawn by the computer equipment. Two CPUs, regular monitors, throw in a laser printer, and you might want two circuits. Might also want the CPUs and printers on separate circuits again, depending on the amps.

Here are some links on 3-way switches

http://www.selfhelpandmore.com/switc...3way/index.htm

http://danswiringpage.com/html/diagrams.html

Don't forget the GFCI protection for outdoor receptacles, and AFCI breakers for circuits in any bedroom.

Good luck.
 
  #4  
Old 12-23-04, 09:06 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You won't have any problem with two computers on a single circuit. This makes perfect sense, you only need one UPS. But make sure that your UPS is a good one. The cheap one's aren't worth owning.
 
  #5  
Old 12-26-04, 04:56 PM
gandh520
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Circuit Specifics

I am finlizing the details for the addition mentioned earlier and I have a couple of more questions. (I've also gotten back into the books and on-line resources over the past few days so, more knowledge means more questions.)
As I mentioned, I am planning four circuits. The two lighting circuits will each have a load of around 1000 watts worth of fixtures on them, sound OK?
I've run 12ga for the receptacle circuits, including the designated computer circuit; should I run 12ga initial power feed to the switches for the light circuits, instead of 14ga? I have already wired the receptacles with 12ga but the lighting circuits were planned for 14ga. All four circuits will be 15amp breakers. The home run is about 35-40ft, so I don't think voltage drop is an issue but a lot of what I read talks about using heavier ga conductor than whats required. I already have most of the 14ga two wire already run between the fixtures. Lighting circuit power feeds are both going to the switches first, 'y'ing from there.
- I'm also curious about the following. The general purpose receptacle circuit will have light intermitant load. The light circuits will see periods of using, like while enternaining guests, where almost every fixture on each of the light circuits will be used. Why does it seem that the conventional wisdom is to use 14ga for light circuits and 12ga for the receptacles. It seems like it should be the other way around.
My service panel is an interesting set-up. 200amp service to the outside panel with a distribution panel inside rated at 125amps. The AC/Heat pump and lawn sprinkler pump are serviced from the exterior panel from the outside, house side of the meter, before service goes to the distribution panel; therefore my 125amp distribution panel does not have the AC/heat pump and lawn pump load on it. House was built in 1997 to Florida Code. Any thoughts on this Service Panel set-up? I planned on using half-size breakers for my new circuits; my load calcs indicate that the distribution panel 125amp should be plenty.
Thanks for the guidance


 

Last edited by gandh520; 12-27-04 at 06:24 AM.
  #6  
Old 12-27-04, 06:26 AM
gandh520
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the help on the previous replies
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: