Splicing

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-19-04, 05:11 PM
papi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 153
Splicing

Hi is it safe to splice [in a box] an extension cord,receptacle end cut-off,to NM same gauge? Thanks for help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-19-04, 05:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
In general this is not considered safe and does not meet code. Extension cords are not to be used for permanent wiring, and flexible cords are not to be used as substitutes for the fixed wiring of a structure.

There are specific situations in which suitably rated flexible cord _may_ be directly spliced to other wiring methods, for example 'pendant receptacles'. There are many details that all have to be correct for this sort of usage, with special cable clamps, cable support baskets, etc. required. If you wish to pursue having some sort of flexible cord permanently attached to your wiring, then you should read article 400 of the NEC.

Why don't you describe what you want to achieve with this sort of connection; we can tell you if it is do-able, and worth spending the time reading article 400.

-Jon
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-04, 10:05 PM
papi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 153
Thank you Jon for reply.I need to run a temporarely line [4 or 5 weeks] to the second floor to feed two receptacles and one light,total loads are less than 200 watts.For reasons no relevant to this post I have to run this line surface.
Im planning on taping the power from a GFI receptacle located on the first floor,and because of it's location ,encountering a lot of dificulties running conduit around some walls .It would help me a lot to be able to plug an extension cord [ 2 or 3 feet[just to get around these obstacles and splice the other end with NM running for 12 feet between two pieces of 1x2 lumber for protection and use 6' of conduit for the drop to the receptacles .Obviously this may not be the best idea but under the circunstances im in it seems the only one possible for me,Thanks again for your help
 

Last edited by papi; 12-19-04 at 10:13 PM. Reason: add info
  #4  
Old 12-20-04, 09:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
papi,

Unfortunately this is one of the circumstances that is explicitly called out in the code as a no-no. You would be using flexible cord as a substitute for permanent wiring.

Did you intend to splice the cord in on one side, and then plug it in on the other side? Or did you want to use the cord between two junction boxes? If the latter, then you can use any of a number of forms of armored cables that are suitable for surface mounting. While you can't use an extension cord for this, and you can't run NM exposed over these obstacles, there almost certainly are suitable wiring materials.

You could also use a length of _flexible_ conduit as a sheath to protect the NM around the obstacles, in the same way you will be sheathing the NM running down the wall. Finally, rather than running NM in conduit, you could install a complete run of conduit, starting at the receptacle that you wish to tap, extending to a junction box. At the junction box you would transition to the flexible conduit, go around the obstacles, and go to another junction box, transition back to regular conduit, and go to your destination. In this complete conduit run you would use THHN wires rather than NM cable.

-Jon
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-04, 11:43 AM
papi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 153
Thanks so much Jon,at one point I considered pluging one end of the extension [ABOUT 2 FEET IN LENGTH]] and splice the other end in a BOX
You mentioned running NM in flexible conduit ''Greenfield'' or something else?
Thanks a lot
 

Last edited by papi; 12-20-04 at 11:49 AM. Reason: ADDING INFO
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'