Position of receptacles

Old 12-20-04, 12:57 PM
Position of receptacles

I have been in this house for about five years now and have tolerated my receptacle installation just fine. But now I have to ask.
They were all installed with the ground hole up, in my opinion, upside down.
When I was a electrician years ago, we installed them all right side up, that is with the ground hole down. The old timers told me that it needed to be that way to make sure the plug held up nice and tight. They never did refer me to code on it and I have long since left the book behind.
This is never an issue unless I have a heavier than normal transformer type plug (they fall off) or my neighbors who used the same builder complain to me about it.
Now I have to hear some other opinions.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-20-04, 01:15 PM
GregN
Visiting Guest
It's a safety issue

I don't know if it's code or not. My father in-law recently helped me wire some outlets in my pool room and he instructed me to install them upside down. From many of his how to books, it is so that if the plug comes partially out anything coming in contact with it would hit the ground first. I personally like them right side up. At least if you use this on your neighboor, you might not have to hear them complain anymore. I fell for it until i asked an electrician who informed me that they could be sideways, ****-eyed, or anyway you want them as long as it passes code.

Old 12-20-04, 01:16 PM
Its my understanding that, technically, what you are *used to* is an upside down outlet. These outlets you are annoyed by *are* "right side up".

They just look ugly that way. Most people like their outlets to look like faces.