Solar - Generator - Utility

Old 12-21-04, 11:50 PM
dsn
Visiting Guest
Solar - Generator - Utility

I am a flooring / finish contractor and have a fair bit of electrical work under my belt. I have done panel upgrades and such but; emabarking on something more.

Living in rural Alaska we have unreliable power; ie heat. I am wanting to install solar panels mainly as a novelty/save some money in summer. I wonder if any one has a good information source for installing a system where I can use any of the 3 power sources at the flip of a switch. Also wondering of there is a auto-switch between the solar and utility when the solar can not produce enough power. I am wanting to do this with out having a huge battery bank.

Any thoughts or resources would be appreciated...

Dave Northup
Homer, Alaska

Sponsored Links
Old 12-23-04, 07:57 PM
dsn Wrote:
Living in rural Alaska we have unreliable power; ie heat. I am wanting to install solar panels mainly as a novelty/save some money in summer. I wonder if any one has a good information source for installing a system where I can use any of the 3 power sources at the flip of a switch. Also wondering of there is a auto-switch between the solar and utility when the solar can not produce enough power. I am wanting to do this with out having a huge battery bank.
There are many photo voltaic systems that will run in parallel with utility power thus reducing your electric bill. If your system will be large enough to ever produce more than you can use it takes a special kind of metering to get you credit for the power that goes out onto the utilities lines to supply some of your neighbors electricity. Whether the utility will provide the metering you would need would depend on the laws in your state. One thing that the utility will insist on is that the photo voltaic controller is suitable for co generation and will instantly disconnect from the grid if utility power is lost.