New outlets, no power...help

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-22-04, 08:24 AM
kevinoc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question New outlets, no power...help

We had an electrician here a couple of weeks ago. He activated a wall switch to connect with the 9 sockets in our family room. That switch had been dead since we moved here in 91.
In remodeling this room, we wanted to change the sockets and wall switches. Most of the sockets were pretty basic. I did learn to snap the little tab between the screws so that the connection would stay with the switch and the right side of each socket.
Had some difficulty. Some of the sockets had multiple wires. Some with wires in the back as well as screwed.
Anyway, at this point, I have no power in any of the sockets, with our without the switch.
I don't know where to start to check to see where the problem would be.
Help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-22-04, 08:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Unless you know exactly what you are doing and understand exactly how the receptacle is wired, breaking off the receptacle tab is a quite risky thing to do. My suggestion is for you to go buy another set of receptacles, ones with the tab still in place, and replace all the ones that you broke the tabs off of. This time leave the tabs alone.
 
  #3  
Old 12-22-04, 10:08 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Originally Posted by kevinoc
I did learn to snap the little tab between the screws so that the connection would stay with the switch and the right side of each socket.
Had some difficulty. Some of the sockets had multiple wires. Some with wires in the back as well as screwed.
Anyway, at this point, I have no power in any of the sockets, with our without the switch.
I don't know where to start to check to see where the problem would be.
Help.
Are you intending to control lights with the switch and still keep the other half of the receptacles hot all the time?

I'd start by checking for voltage at the light switch's box. Do you have a voltage tester?
 
  #4  
Old 12-22-04, 08:38 PM
kevinoc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by John Nelson
Unless you know exactly what you are doing and understand exactly how the receptacle is wired, breaking off the receptacle tab is a quite risky thing to do. My suggestion is for you to go buy another set of receptacles, ones with the tab still in place, and replace all the ones that you broke the tabs off of. This time leave the tabs alone.
John,
Thanks for the reply. I took off the tabs because I thought that was the way the connection would stay in place. I thought then that the right socket at each receptacle would be controlled by the switch. The left side would not be controlled by the switch.

What happens if I leave the tabs on. Will the receptacles be controlled by the wall switch?
 
  #5  
Old 12-22-04, 08:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
What happens if I leave the tabs on.
That's the same question I'd ask you. How did it work before you took the tabs off?
 
  #6  
Old 12-24-04, 07:52 PM
kevinoc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for all of your help.
After taking your ideas, buying some testers, talking the man in the elect dept at Menards and consulting with my brother, I got it all figured out late late last night...2AM this morning.

All receptacles work and so does the switch.


Thanks.
 
  #7  
Old 12-24-04, 08:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Please tell us what the problem turned out to be.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'