Converting an A.C. outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-22-04, 09:01 AM
jason melby
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Converting an A.C. outlet

I'm looking for some info about trying to change an outlet. I have a rental unit that was built in 1982 and has a window A.C. unit mounted up in the wall. It was wired with an outlet right next to the A.C. (250v/20a). I replaced the origianal A.C. unit and went out bought a new one with no consideration for the plug type (which happens to be a standard 3 prong plug). I want to convert the convienantly located outlet to a standard out let. Help?

FYI - I can not describe the outlet style, but wiring wise there is a black, red, white, and bear ground. The white and the ground are connected to the same terminal with the red going to one side and the black going to the other.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-22-04, 09:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
IF the White-wire is connected to the Grounding- terminal 0f the existing 240-volt receptacle, the Grounding-terminal being identified by a Green screw, then it can be used as the Grounded circuit-conductor of a 120-volt 2-wire circuit.

You will have to locate this White conductor in the breaker-panel, and be positive that it connects to the Neutral terminal-bar where the other White-wires of the other 120-volt circuits connect. This White-wire will be in the same cable which has the Black and Red wires connected to a 2-pole circuit-breaker.

For the new 120-volt A-C unit, connect a "single-receptacle" device rated at 120-volts 20-amps to the White & Black wires.Insulate the Red wire in the outlet-box, and dis-connect it from the 2-pole breaker.The White wire connects to the "silver" device-terminal, and the Black to the "brass" terminal.Connect the bare Grounding-conductor to the Green terminal- screw.

Good Luck & Enjoy the Experience!!!!!!!
 
  #3  
Old 12-22-04, 10:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Jason,

Your life will be so much better in so many ways if you return this air conditioner and buy another 240-volt 20-amp air conditioner. The air conditioner will work better, you will be cooler next summer, and you won't have any expensive electrical work to do.
 
  #4  
Old 12-22-04, 11:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Fayetteville, NY, USA
Posts: 1,052
I agree with John Nelson. A 240v air conditioner is more efficient, and more powerful, than a 120v unit. More bang for your energy buck and no wiring changes required.

Juice
 
  #5  
Old 12-22-04, 09:09 PM
jason melby
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you

I would like to thank you for your advise. I however originally bought this a.c. unit in hast this past summer when the one I had in went bad, and the current tenants needed one with no thought as to my electical needs. I ran the a.c. on heavy gauge appliance extension cord for the summer. The tenant just recently moved out so I fiqured this was my time to change over the outlet.

What I did do was what one of you wrote. I determined the white was on the ground bar in the breaker box and both my red and black were carrying a load. I pulled my red, capped it and labled it 'to a.c. - dead' with tape and did the same in my recepticle box. I then purchased 20 amp standard outlet and wired it. Everything is working good!

I will keep that advise about 240 A.C. in the back of my head, I have several other units set up the same. And if my current A.C. goes bad, I can just switch thing back again, all my wires are still in place.

Thanx again
 
  #6  
Old 12-23-04, 06:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Fayetteville, NY, USA
Posts: 1,052
Did you replace the two-pole breaker with a single pole breaker? Also, does your breaker match your conductor size? #12 wire for 20 amp breaker, #10 for 30 amp breaker. And your receptacle should be a single, not a duplex, rating to match circuit amperage.

Juice
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'