Multiple sub panels

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-03-05, 09:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 84
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Multiple sub panels

When wiring more than one sub panel from the main panel, do you run the conductors from main to sub to sub or are they each from the main.

Am installing two 100 amp subs in addition to the main in my shop. Again, shop is on it's own 200 amp service.

Thanks
John
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-03-05, 09:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can do it either way, but running both subs directly from the main is usually better.
 
  #3  
Old 01-03-05, 10:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 84
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
John Nelson or anyone is appreciated!!

Thanks John

I had rather go from one sub to the other as it would require less #2 gauge.

Also in doing it this way would the conductors from the first to the second sub be on a 100 amp breaker or can I go from the lugs of the first to the second. Does that make since??


Also keeping both subs "non bonded neiutral/ground, right??

John
 

Last edited by John1; 01-04-05 at 05:12 AM.
  #4  
Old 01-04-05, 07:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you run #2 from your main panel to your first sub-panel, and then from your first sub-panel to your second sub-panel, then you could 'get away' with less #2 and a single 100A breaker feeding the first panel.

However if you do this the total available amperage on both subpanels _combined_ would be 100A.

If you run a separate #2 to each sub-panel, each with its own feeder breaker, then each subpanel would have its own 100A capability.

It really depends on the needs. If you are installing 100A panels simply to have lots of space for circuit breakers (convenience), then it would be fine to wire things in the first fashion.

If the lugs on the subpanel is designed and listed for two conductors, and the upstream protection is suitable for the downstream conductors, then you could tap the supply for the first sub-panel for the second. But you have to make sure that you use lugs listed for this purpose, and that everything protected by the 100A breaker is suitable for a 100A breaker.

-Jon
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: