Wiring Guide - Looking for further confirmation

Old 01-04-05, 09:07 PM
blue87z
Visiting Guest
Question Wiring Guide - Looking for further confirmation

I'm located in Iowa and finishing my basement. This is my 3rd basement project so I have some prior experience with wiring, but I'm by no means an expert . I was looking through my wiring guide book in preparation for wiring the lights and outlets. I typically wire lights with No. 14-2 (with 15 amp breaker) and outlets with No. 12-2 (with 20 amp breaker). I believe 14-2 is sufficient for lighting and is easier wiring to work with and I like the heavy 12-2 wiring for outlets and potential heavier loads.

My book says the following info:
Wire Size - Amps - Watts (based on 120 volts at 80% loaded)

No. 14 wire - 15 amps - 1800 watts
No. 12 wire - 20 amps - 2400 watts

Does the above from my wiring book make sense? Do others agree?

I would also really like other resources that would help determine things like: 1) what's the maximum number of outlets that should be connected in 1 circuit? 2) does total length/feet of wiring make a difference? 3) and other things like this that give general guidance to proper wiring.

Thanks in advance for any assistance or links to other web sites.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-04-05, 09:14 PM
The numbers you quoted (1800 watts and 2400 watts) are what is available at 100% load, not 80% load. If you want to limit yourself to 80%, then the numbers are 1440 watts and 1920 watts. Limiting yourself to 80% is a good idea but not generally required.

As to your questions:

(1) In most parts of the U.S., there is no limit of receptacles on a circuit. But the standard rule of thumb is no more than 8 on a 15-amp circuit or 10 on a 20-amp circuit. You'd be wise to use fewer in areas where you know there will be a lot of electrical stuff, and you can use more (but I woundn't particularly advise it) in areas where you know there will be little electrical usage.