3-Way Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-05-05, 03:22 PM
hth
hth is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 233
Question 3-Way Switch

My house has 2 three-way switches on a separate circuit. Is it code that the kind of switches must be on its own circuit? I am thinking of wiring a bathfan using that circuit but just wonder if any problem? Thx.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-05-05, 03:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
There is no code dictating what you have found.

However, make sure that there really is nothing else on the circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 01-05-05, 05:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
And be aware that among the two switch boxes and the fixture box, you can extend power from only one of them, and you won't know which one until you analyze the current wiring.

Also be aware that although there is no blanket restriction evident based on what you've said so far, there are a number of possible restrictions based on what you haven't said so far. For example, you can't extend the circuit if ungrounded. And you can't extend the circuit if it controls receptacles in certain rooms. And if the switches control an appliance, you also may not be able to extend the circuit. The details may be quite significant.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes