Pass through Amps on standard receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-11-05, 08:14 PM
jhughe90
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Pass through Amps on standard receptacle

Was looking at a bad GFCI I was returning to Home Depot today and notice it said both 20A on the GFCI load and 20A pass through current, which is what you'd expect of course. So I was wondering on your standard .50 15A receptacle, is the pass through current rated at 15A as well or will it handle 20A pass-through on 12/2 to a 20A circuit breaker? Or do I need to swap out several breakers?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-12-05, 04:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
All 15 amp receptacles can handle a pass through current of 20 amps.
 
  #3  
Old 01-12-05, 05:46 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Consider the fact that the device is a duplex. So in actuality it is two 15 amp receptacles. This is why just one duplex 15 amp device is allowed on a 20 amp circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 01-12-05, 08:37 AM
jhughe90
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Mr

Originally Posted by racraft
All 15 amp receptacles can handle a pass through current of 20 amps.
That's what I had thought, thanks for the confirmation!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'