I Need Some Outlet Help


  #1  
Old 01-13-05, 12:23 PM
A.Parsons
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question I Need Some Outlet Help

All the outlets on one side of my house are on the same circuit breaker. There is a GFI outlet first in the line that works fine, but every outlet after that has no power. I tried replacing the GFI outlet but that didn't work. I sure could use some ideas on where to go next!!??
 
  #2  
Old 01-13-05, 12:29 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The most likely possibility I can think of is that you reversed "line" and "load" when you installed the new GFCI. If not that, then you either made a bad connection at the GFCI or the nearest outlet to it has a bad connection. If the GFCI is tripped, you need to reset it. If it won't reset, then you likely have a ground fault.
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-05, 01:02 PM
A.Parsons
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

Well, the GFI outlet is working fine though, I have tested and meetered it at 110v. Just all the outlets after the GFI don't work. I have checked the wiring at the other outlets and they seem to be fine??
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-05, 01:32 PM
T
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Push the test button that's on the GFCI receptacle and then push the reset button. If this doesn't work, you'll need to evaluate your wiring connections to and out of the GFCI receptacle.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: