I Need Some Outlet Help

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-05, 12:23 PM
A.Parsons
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question I Need Some Outlet Help

All the outlets on one side of my house are on the same circuit breaker. There is a GFI outlet first in the line that works fine, but every outlet after that has no power. I tried replacing the GFI outlet but that didn't work. I sure could use some ideas on where to go next!!??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-05, 12:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
The most likely possibility I can think of is that you reversed "line" and "load" when you installed the new GFCI. If not that, then you either made a bad connection at the GFCI or the nearest outlet to it has a bad connection. If the GFCI is tripped, you need to reset it. If it won't reset, then you likely have a ground fault.
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-05, 01:02 PM
A.Parsons
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

Well, the GFI outlet is working fine though, I have tested and meetered it at 110v. Just all the outlets after the GFI don't work. I have checked the wiring at the other outlets and they seem to be fine??
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-05, 01:32 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Push the test button that's on the GFCI receptacle and then push the reset button. If this doesn't work, you'll need to evaluate your wiring connections to and out of the GFCI receptacle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'