doorbell transformer - where?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-18-05, 08:37 PM
Mikeey
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
doorbell transformer - where?

I have a dead doorbell - dead at the button (touched the wires) and no voltage to the chimes wiring......that leaves the transformer - I have looked everywhere and can't find it!! Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
I checked by the circuit breaker (60 ft. away) and no joy - hope they didn't put it behind sheetrock or something - I am at a loss......
-Mikeey
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-18-05, 08:44 PM
GTBaker's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 81
I've seen it on the outside of the panel...I've seen inside the panel(under the metal cover exposing all the wires)...and I've even seen it on the outside of an octagon box next to the panel. It should be around the panel vacinity.
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-05, 08:49 PM
ardeen
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
doorbell transformer

Depends who did the original wiring. In my current house, the doorbell transformer was connected to the back of a receptacle, and was located in the crawl space under the house.

Got any idea which circuit the bell ran off? If yes, see if any switches or receptacles on that circuit are accessible from the back.

One time, I saw the transformer wired into a passing line, located in the crawl space below the bell area.
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-05, 09:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
The two most common locations for the doorbell transformer are the panel, and the furnace. You've looked at one of the two. Check the other.
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-05, 10:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 188
You might take a look at using a wireless doorbell, there is quite a selection out there. They are very economical and operate on batteries which lasts quite a while. Also eliminates the problems with the traditional low voltage units such as you are experiencing right now...
 
  #6  
Old 01-19-05, 05:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Mine's up in the attic, screwed to one of the trusses...
 
  #7  
Old 01-19-05, 05:21 AM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,827
I have owned mostly older homes and all the doorbell transformers were attached to either floor joists or rafters. Plus one under the basement stairs. Good luck.
 
  #8  
Old 01-19-05, 06:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 510
In my parent's house the transformer was mounted on one of the boxes for a basement pull-chain light fixture...it really could be anywhere...
 
  #9  
Old 01-19-05, 08:23 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Mine's in the hall closet.
 
  #10  
Old 01-19-05, 09:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 32
I would start at the chime/buzzer or at the doorbell itself and see if I could trace the wires they have to meet up somewhere
 
  #11  
Old 01-19-05, 10:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Virginia
Posts: 192
Originally Posted by mikewu99
In my parent's house the transformer was mounted on one of the boxes for a basement pull-chain light fixture...it really could be anywhere...
Same here and the house is only 4 years old.
 
  #12  
Old 01-19-05, 09:01 PM
Mikeey
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks! I found that sucker!

It was in my house furnace - what a wierd place! No where near my doorbell -
Thanks to all who responded for your help-
-Mikeey
 
  #13  
Old 01-20-05, 09:36 AM
dougm's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Colony, Texas
Posts: 917
In the furnace?? Are you sure that's the right transformer? Here, they're usually in an electrical box behind the chime.

I'm amazed at all the different "common" locations.

Doug M.
 
  #14  
Old 01-20-05, 01:55 PM
Mikeey
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
furnace location

Actually, no, not positive, but pretty sure -it was attached to the box with the on-off switch for the furnace - checked with a met4er and no power from it, although it is wired. Furnace installer told me it is not part of the furnace- will check tonight.
-Mikeey
 
  #15  
Old 01-20-05, 02:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
That's exactly where my doorbell transformer is.
 
  #16  
Old 01-20-05, 02:16 PM
dougm's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Colony, Texas
Posts: 917
Ah, not in furnace, on furnace. That makes more sense.

Doug M.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes