How do you deactivate a wall light?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-19-05, 06:45 PM
besullivan
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question How do you deactivate a wall light?

I want to deactivate a wall light and patch the hole and paint over. What do I need to do wiring wise?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-19-05, 07:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,678
How many cables come intothe box?
You need to find the other end of all the cables and disconnect the wires from there. Once all the wires are disconnected and cut off so they can't be reconnceted then you can remove the box and patch the hole. The old wires since they are dead can be left in the walls.
 
  #3  
Old 01-19-05, 07:22 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
Is it controlled by a switch? If so the wire will have to be removed from the switch,{cut out of the box} so it cannot be reconnected by others.The feed into the switch is probably coming from another box. In which case it is best to cap off the wires & use a blank plate.That wire must still remain accessible.
 
  #4  
Old 01-19-05, 07:46 PM
besullivan
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
deactivate light

1 swithch controlling two separate lights over fireplace, new house, just useless lights
 
  #5  
Old 01-19-05, 07:48 PM
besullivan
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wires coming out of each box

three wires come out of each
 
  #6  
Old 01-19-05, 09:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
three wires come out of each
This is ambiguous. Can you clarify?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes