12/3 ckt bath heater

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-23-05, 03:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 34
12/3 ckt bath heater

Again older home. Have a 12-3 ckt to frt bathroom. One leg goes to bath heater 750W other leg went to Evap Cooler. Cooler was removed. Can cooler leg be used to run a washing machine in next room. This had a 30amp breaker in it changed it to 20amp. Breaker is a double pole. Think I said that right . Thanks Again WP
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-23-05, 03:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I'm not quite sure how to address this one, so I will let someone else take a stab at it.

My gut answer is that this would not be allowed. Even if allowed, I'm not sure that I would do this.
 
  #3  
Old 01-24-05, 05:59 AM
sjr
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I can't think of any reason why it wouldn't be permitted, but I agree with Racraft that I probably wouldn't do it anyway.
 
  #4  
Old 01-24-05, 06:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 34
thanks

This didn`t seem right to me to begin with double ck`d. that`s the way it was setup. Think I can run 2 ckt`s One to bath heater and 0ne to cfci for bath. do thiese need to be only things on these ckt`s thanks for ya`lls time WP
 
  #5  
Old 01-24-05, 06:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I see no codes which would prohibit it. And I can think of no reason why it would not be a good idea. Code allows a multiwire circuit to be considered as multiple circuits.
 
  #6  
Old 01-26-05, 06:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 171
get 2 single pole breakers
 
  #7  
Old 01-26-05, 06:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Originally Posted by Jedi9
get 2 single pole breakers

I'd rather keep it on a double pole breaker. Yes, that means that if one trips, the other does too, but it prevents accidentally putting both hots on the same phase and frying the neutral wire.

Even if the two single pole breakers are installed correctly now, who's to say someone later won't move one of them to make room for a double pole breaker and then they both wind up on the same phase.
 
  #8  
Old 01-26-05, 06:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I agree. Keep the double-pole breaker. It is better than two single-pole breakers in this application for several reasons.
 
  #9  
Old 01-27-05, 11:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Thanks ya`ll This is my wknd project. By the way ened up replacing an older federal subbox feeding this. Will let you know. WP
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'