Generator and Furnace?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-05, 03:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sterling Heights
Posts: 308
Generator and Furnace?

I recently had a new furnace installed (ComfortMaker 90+) and I'm concerened about running a generator during power outages. The installer said voltage surges from running the generator could damage the circuit board on the furnace.

Is there any truth to this and if so, is there some type of surge protector or filter that I can use on the furnace when running it off the generator?
Thanks,
Phil
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-03-05, 07:14 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,433
I agree with the installer.. I would talk to an electrion (SP) on what type of filter or power surge protector that can be used.

I take it you have power outtage often and long time?
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-05, 11:34 AM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 937
Phil,
You might want to repost this in the electrical forum. You might get more info there.
Good luck!
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-05, 04:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 281
Modern furnaces are full of electronic components.

The furnace may not even operate without a ground reference.

Yes, it is possible that your furnace could be damaged by the generator. You should check the waveform specs on your generator.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes