Cooktop & Built-in oven wiring?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-04-05, 09:28 AM
brianosaur
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cooktop & Built-in oven wiring?

I am replacing the range I have with a seperate cooktop & built-in oven. The current range has a 8 guage, 40 amp breaker set up. The cable is only two wire with a braded silver colored ground (aluminum?) and NO white wire.

This old unarmored cable runs right out of the drywall and is hardwired directly to the range.

I was planning on running one new seperate 3 wire 8g & 40a for the new oven, but was going to use the old wire and breaker for the new cooktop.

1.) Should I run TWO new 8g cables (on seperate 2pole 40a breakers of course) and get rid of this old cable?

2.) Can I just hardwire the new units from a cable running through a hole in the drywall like the old range, or should there be junction boxes in the wall and armored cable running to the new appliances? Or 220v outlets and plugs like my clothes dryer?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-04-05, 11:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 171
Run one new 6-3 w/g on a 50A breaker to a junction bx between the units, splice in 2 taps from here to feed both units, discard the old cable
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-05, 12:19 PM
brianosaur
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Jedi9
Run one new 6-3 w/g on a 50A breaker to a junction bx between the units, splice in 2 taps from here to feed both units, discard the old cable
Already bought 1 cable 8g 3w cut to length off a big spool. I doubt they'll take it back. I will just run another one I guess. I have enough breaker slots.

Thanks though.

What about question #2 - hardwired through the drywall?
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-05, 01:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 171
I'm thinking back to the last ones I put in. I think ea came with a MC cable pigtail.. For the stove top I put a j-box on the floor of the cabinet and ran the pigtail through the cabinet. The oven I mounted a j-box on the back wall, watch the depth, though. You know, check the amp draw on ea, I'm thinking one will be on a smaller circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes