Cable Staples?

Old 02-03-05, 08:10 AM
brianosaur
Visiting Guest
Thumbs down Cable Staples?

What's the purpose of cable staples?

I took the drywall down in a few rooms and am running new wires for a new light and ceiling fan. I see the original electrician put staples near the boxes and at the top of the studs. There were also a few in the ceiling joists when it ran down the length of one.

I know that they need to be used, but is it to keep the wire away from the drywall so no nails or screws can be driven into the wire?

Or is it to prevent pulling the wire too tight?

I know not to set cable staples too deep into the wire, but are there any more tips on placing and setting staples?

Thanks

Old 02-03-05, 08:20 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
NEC and Staples

Dear Brian,

The use of staples in the installation serve many purposes. But the most important one as a Electrician I can import is that the NEC requires them in Art 336 and it governs what a electrician can do with regards to the installation which is also covered in Art 300.

The code states that NM and NMC be supported at intervals not exceeding 4 1/2 feet and within 12in from any box, cabinet or fitting per the NEC code section 336-18 ( 1999 NEC)

Now beyond that as a electrician we understand that these cables need to be supported in order for them to NOT run the risk of something pulling on them and causing wires to be pulled from or exposed from the outlet to which the wire(cable) is run.

Also not to mention a neater job is a happier client for the most part. Our firm has always been a stickler for neat installs not because we can see it....but because our clients CAN'T see it and what you can't see should not have to worry you.

Old 02-04-05, 09:41 AM
T
Fasten in finished walls?