Rookie major mistake...

Old 02-08-05, 06:10 AM
81Custom
Visiting Guest
Rookie major mistake...

Hello,, I'm a rookie whos' tired of no-show contractors and tried to do as much wiring myself as I could. after running conduit in my new unattached garage, i mistakenly ran #12 braided wire. Do the connectors have to be soldered to the wires, or is the crimp enough to prevent arcing? Also, can I substitute shrink tubing for tape? I will NOT be hooking up the panel...I ain't that stupid to try...but do the wire ends at the panel need to be soldered for use with set screws in the bar? Thanks, and I wish I could find an electrician who'd show up...or at least call back.....

Old 02-08-05, 08:39 AM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You could use crimp connectors...or you could simply use a short piece of solid wire and use a wire nut to connect the 2.

Old 02-08-05, 11:02 AM
R
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
No the wires dont need to be soldered to connect them to the neutral/ground bars and breakers in the panel. In fact you really didnt screw up at all, stranded wire is much preferred in conduit applications over solid wire. Use crimp on fork terminals for connecting to your receptacles and switches Or buy switches and receptacles that are "backwired", dont confuse this with backstabbed. Do you have the sub-panel set and feeder ran to it from the main panel at the House? (I am assuming you are feeding the sub-panel from your house main panel.) If you read this Linked article and maybe a few good home wiring books like "wiring simplified" (home depot) you should be able to do this yourself. Post back with your questions after reading up on what you are wanting to do.

http://www.selfhelpandmore.com/homew...rage/index.htm

Old 02-08-05, 11:07 AM
W