Replacing Existing Sub-Panel??

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-08-05, 07:15 PM
bdek
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Replacing Existing Sub-Panel??

I want to remove an older residential (8) fuse type sub-panel and replace it with one that has circuit breakers. The existing BX branch circuit cabling will connect to the new panel knockouts -- but the individual wires are not quite long enough to attach to the new breakers or the neutral bus. Can I splice additional wiring to the existing circuits in the new circuit breaker sub-panel (with wire nuts) so that I can reach each breaker and the neutral bus??

Thanks,
Bob
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-08-05, 08:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,210
No, but you can screw a box or two nearby and splice in there.
 
  #3  
Old 02-08-05, 10:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I would have answered the question yes.
 
  #4  
Old 02-08-05, 11:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 83
NEC states you can as long as the splice is terminated on a breaker in that panel and that the panel is not used as a junction box to splice a circuit through.
 
  #5  
Old 02-09-05, 01:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,210
Originally Posted by John Nelson
I would have answered the question yes.
My mistake. But though the code allows that, would you do it?

I guess if you ...um, think someone might... work on the live panel you can't allow that kind of clutter.
 
  #6  
Old 02-09-05, 07:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
But though the code allows that, would you do it?
A few...maybe. A lot...no.
 
  #7  
Old 02-09-05, 09:11 PM
bdek
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks very much guys for the quick response to my question. Appreciate the guidance and comments. I'm only going to do a few splices inside the new sub-panel so as to minimize the clutter. It' doable.

Thanks again,
Bob
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'