3 GFCI in series

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-05, 07:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 62
3 GFCI in series

I need to run a seperate 12-2 wire to each of 3 GFCI receptacles, and join them in a box with another wire to the main breaker box (old house, actually easier this way then trying to join them in series.)

Does the wire to each GFCI device go to the Line terminals?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-05, 09:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Fayetteville, NY, USA
Posts: 1,052
The wires on the line terminals must be the only wire between the panel and the receptacle. It sounds pretty much like the GFCI receps are not feeding any other recep's which are downstream from them. Feeding downstream recep's is the purpose of the "load" terminals. So I if I understand your post correctly, yes, wires go on the line terminals.

Juice
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-05, 12:35 PM
ElectricalMan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisonburg
Posts: 744
hmm..why not just do the exact thing you said and simply use a GFCI breaker in the panel and then only have to use 50 cent receptables and the entire circuit is GFCI rather than buying 3 GFCI receps....

I might have missed something and I think I am thinking this way because I have a truck load of extra GFCI breakers...lol
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'