Is this right?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-17-05, 02:47 PM
hth
hth is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 233
Is this right?

I am upgrading my 100A to 200A and also move it to a new location. The electrician mounted the new 200A panel on the wall, ran #6 wires from new panel to ground for grounding and ran wires from new meter to behind the old meter then stopped there. I then called city for inspection. Two inspectors came, one as a trainee, another is trainer. They inspected and finally gave me a correction note with 2 things. First is the ground wire for 200A must be #4. Second the breakers must have labels. I called the electrician and he said he would correct this but he said he did everything right by the book. He said how could he label breakers in new panel when he didn't know yet what new circuit to what old circuit. He said probably the inspectors came as training so the old guy must kind of show up to the new guy! Is this him or the inspectors right for the size of ground wire. I thing it is silly to ask for labelling new breakers but, I want it's done so I will put some labels to have them passed.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-17-05, 03:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
#4 is required for the Grounding Electrode Conductor (GEC) if the wire is unprotected. You can use #6 for the GEC if it is run in conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 02-17-05, 04:13 PM
hth
hth is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 233
the #6 wire is in flex conduit. However there is about 1 inch no conduit at the end where the wire is tied to the ground rod. Is this the reason for correction?
 
  #4  
Old 02-17-05, 04:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 132
Your panel has to be labeled for inspection. It's kind of silly, since the inspector can't check the validity of the labeling, but it's just one of those things that is required.
 
  #5  
Old 02-17-05, 04:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 719
The book is one thing.
Each-each city may change the requirements.

The finish inspection requires the breakers to be labeled.
Maybe your electrician wanted a rough inspection
 
  #6  
Old 02-17-05, 04:53 PM
hth
hth is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 233
this was a middle inspection since there is no power to the new panel, wires are there but no connection from old box to new box. This middle inspection is required before the utility company can put a new meter and drop new SE cables. Then the electrician comes and do final job connecting new box to old box. Why don't wait until final for the lables?
 
  #7  
Old 02-17-05, 07:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 719
Sounds like the inspector was giving you a final inspection.

Not all inspectors know what they are doing, some just look at city notes,
and just look at the grounds.
Its best to tell the inspector If its a finish or rough inspection. so they can get the proper notes.

The rough inspection is to check the wiring before you cover it with dry wall.
Why cant the electrician wire every thing in the panel before the inspection ?
That's what I did.

Most of the time your not going to get any power before the final inspection.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes