Breaker Box Neutrals and Ground

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-19-05, 07:17 AM
PittsburghHomer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Breaker Box Neutrals and Ground

As I remodel my kitchen, I am attempting to add 3 new circuit breakers to the last 3 empty slots on my breaker box. However, I noticed that I only have one open spot on the neutral busbar and no place to attach the ground wires. On further inspection, I found:

1. While there are two neutral busbars, there are no dedicated ground busbars installed. I discovered this by comparing the diagram on the panelbox with what is actually present in the panelbox.

2. The grounds and neutrals are both connected to the neutral busbars (panelboard says this is allowed). These darn grounds are taking up the slots on the neutral busbar needed to connected the white wires and ground wires from my new lines!

3. On the older lines (50 year old Romex) coming into the box, the ground wires were cut short and attached directly to the clamps that are holding the lines as they come into the box.

Thus, I need to attach 3 neutrals and 3 grounds and only have one opening on one neutral busbar.

What do I do? Can I attach my new incoming ground wires directly to the clamps as was done before? Can I remove 2 old ground wires and attach them to their respective clamps, thus making room for my new neutral wires? Can I try to squeeze two grounds into the same slot on the neutral busbar? Or do I need to install 2 ground busbars? If so, can I do it myself and how is it done?

Specs: I have a 100 amp service to a Murray breaker box (installed and inspected in 1996), type 1B, Type F, CTL panelboard #E26095 with 20 circuit breaker slots and 22 neutral wire openings.

Thanks!!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-19-05, 07:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
You need to purchase and addtion bus bar for your panel.
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-05, 09:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If the instructions allow, you may double up two ground wires per connection. You may not double up the neutral wires.
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-05, 04:38 PM
PittsburghHomer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Just bought two ground bus bars from Murray. The install is a piece of cake; not nearly as intimidating as I thought. Thanks yet again!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'