Dremel Tool Speed

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-20-05, 07:06 AM
mlmarmer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Dremel Tool Speed

I have a Dremel tool whose variable speed is no longer working. The tool either is off or at full speed, when you turn the variable speed switch on.

I was told to go to Radio Shack and they would have a Rheostat that I can put on the electrical cord to control the electricity to the unit. They had no idea what I was talking about.

Someone also told me there is a Rheostat unit that I can plug into a outlet and then the tool.

Anyone know of such of a thing or I am better off just buying a new Dremel.

Thanks, Mike Marmer
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-20-05, 07:18 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Places like Rockler have plug in rheostats for routers.
Something like that may cost as much as a new Dremel though.
 
  #3  
Old 02-21-05, 06:31 AM
Pendragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,835
I'm pretty sure you could just order a new rheo from dremel.

The plug in ones for routers and such are about $20.
 
  #4  
Old 02-21-05, 06:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
Dremels are low power users. I have seen homemade controls made using a dimmer switch.
 
  #5  
Old 02-21-05, 08:00 AM
Pendragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,835
True that, a dimmer switch should work, but they are only slight less expensive ($8-$12) than the premade router speed controller, plus you will still need other parts to complete it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'