replacing "no ground" recepticles


  #1  
Old 02-24-05, 02:17 PM
tombell
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question replacing "no ground" recepticles

Hi,

Some of the outlets in our house were installed with only 2 wire cable. I read that a GFI outlet can be used as a replacement to facillitate a 3 prong plug while also giving protection from shock. Is this correct?

I would appreciate some feedback. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 02-24-05, 02:42 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A GFCI can be installed and will allow a three prong plug device to be installed. There will be protection from a ground fault.

However, the circuit will not be grounded. Some electronic equipment may not function properly.

Depending on what you want to plug in, you really should properly ground the circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-05, 03:32 PM
tombell
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Smile thanks

Hi Engineer Bob,

Thank you very much for your prompt reply and for your advice. I do appreciate it.

tombell
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-05, 06:03 PM
waterfowelman
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Shocking Truth

Yes -you can still get shocked from a gfci outlet.

JD.
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-05, 08:08 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
... but not from a properly functioning one.
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-05, 08:58 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 9,785
Upvotes: 0
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts
Surge Protectors

Just for reference, surge protectors will not work on these ungrounded outlets even with GFCI. You'll be safe from shock, but your equipment (such as computers, A/V, etc) will still be at risk of getting damaged by spikes.
 
  #7  
Old 02-25-05, 09:15 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Mode 2 surge suppressors won't work well. But mode 1 surge suppressors will still work (although they don't provide as much protection as a grounded mode 2, and they're harder to find).
 
  #8  
Old 02-26-05, 02:28 PM
tombell
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Smile GFI questions

Thanks to all who replied to my query and for all the information. I was thinking of moving my computer to a room that does not have a grounded recepticle and installing a GFI there, however after reading the good advice I will not do it until I can ground that circuit. Our house was built about 1950 approx. and the bedrooms don't have grounded circuits. It wouldn't be an easy job to rewire either because the basement ceilings are finished.....so I have something to think about now.

I appreciate the help.

tombell
 
  #9  
Old 02-26-05, 04:32 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Don't let the finished ceiling slow you down. Tear down part or all of the drywall, do your wiring, and install new drywall. Drywall is dirt cheap and easy to put up. The hardest part of the job is repainting the ceiling.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: