GFI Breaker vs. Outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-28-05, 04:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Media, PA
Posts: 175
GFI Breaker vs. Outlet

Whirlpool tub installation: why would it be a required to have a GFI BREAKER vs. a GFI outlet for the pump motor of a whirlpool tub ?
I would like to have an OUTLET instead so there is more convenience in RESETTING it at a location of my choice vs. the breaker box located in the basement.
Is there a code requirement for using a GFI breaker for this application ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-28-05, 05:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Who says you need the GFCI breaker? I see no reason why a GFCI receptacle (or dead front) wouldn't be better. Are you reading the Whirlpool installation instructions? If so, can you quote them to us?
 
  #3  
Old 02-28-05, 05:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 132
What I do when I wire a jetted tub on a new house, is run a home-run from the panel to a box facing a closet that borders the tub if there is one. From there I jump to a box near the motor in the access area. At trim I put a faceless (no slots for plugs) GFI in the closet and a 20-amp single receptacle by the motor.

If you don't have a place to put the faceless GFI, you should probably use a GFI breaker. However I've gotten away with putting 15 amp GFIs in the access areas (still on a dedicated 20 amp circuit though).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'